What is Archive Cleanup?
The Archive Cleanup
feature permanently deletes data from your account, by matching them to
the data in your current backup set. It is useful as it deletes data
from your account that no longer exists on your computer.
To use Archive Cleanup,
- Open Backup Software by double clicking the icon in task bar.
- Click Archive Cleanup, under the Backup tab.
- Set the Cleanup settings as follows. Consider 50% , check periodic cleanup, 30 days, and 25% limit.
- Click on Cleanup Now button. IDrive will generate a list of items to be deleted from your account.
- Click Delete, to remove data from your account.
- Archive Cleanup permanently deletes data which no longer exists on your computer to free up space in your account.
- Archive Cleanup has controls to avoid inadvertent data deletion. It by default considers up to 25% of files for deletion. You can also regulate the percentage according to your preference. The percentage mention refers to files considered for deletion in your account as a percentage of total number of files. The purpose of this percentage based control is to avoid large-scale deletion of files in your account due to some unforeseen event on your computer.